Life Lessons

FEAR

I was so terrified, his stature was very intimidating and my dad had just walked away and left me with only this stern looking man. I was crying and screaming, I did not care who was around me and the snickers and awkward glances directed at me. I wanted this cup to pass over me, I could not go through this.

Hey People, I hope you are having an amazing week? well since you asked, mine has been going really great. It has been so educative and revealing. Don’t worry, the full gist is for another post. This is one for your reading pleasure. Enjoy.

When I was way younger, I was absolutely terrified of injections, my mum is a qualified nurse, I wrote a post about her here Chronicles of a Nigerian Daughter I would cry for 30 minutes to 1  hour before I allowed her inject me. Apart from the time  I FAINTED my mum was the only one licensed to inject me after I had cried for 1 hour.

So as part of the requirements to fulfill before resuming into the hostel, we had to go to the MMR (Medical room) to take an injection and do other tests. Knowing how terrified I was of injection, my dad didn’t tell me I was going to have my medicals done that day. So we arrived at the school’s MMR and I see this huge looking man with a soldier’s uniform barking orders at everyone, even the nurses were scrambling around.

I had my vitals taken, physical examination, urine sample and it was time for blood sample. Staff Shira is the name of this stern looking nurse and apparently, he was the one going to give me the injection. My heart skipped, how would this mean man inject me, I started crying and begging but it was inevitable. I was definitely going to get injected. I guess I was embarrassing my dad so much that he walked away from the MMR.

I was so terrified, his stature was very intimidating and my dad had just walked away and left me with only this stern looking man. I was crying and screaming, I did not care who was around me and the snickers and awkward glances directed at me. I could not go through this. Finally, after all the drama, I got injected and guess what………… the injection was not even as painful as I envisaged but because I had cried so much before I got injected, it would have been weird to stop crying immediately after the injection so I cried some more.

But after that day, I started to realize something. sometimes we are so terrified to try, take the first step, make the first move, be the first to say something, start the change. If you never try, you will never know. What is the worst thing that could happen? You’ll get a No, you’ll fall seven times and get up eight times.

FEAR- False Evidence Appearing Real.

P.S: I didn’t edit this post. I really have to go now. Apologies for any typographical errors. xoxoxo.

Leave a Reply

